Review – Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2)

6148028

TITLE: Catching Fire
AUTHOR: Suzanne Collins
PAGES: 391
PUBLISHED: September 1st 2009
PUBLISHER: Scholastic Press
GENRE: Young Adult, Dystopia, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Romance.
MY RATING:
Rating - 5 Bird

SUMMARY:

In Catching Fire, the second novel in the Hunger Games trilogy, Suzanne Collins continues the story of Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark coming home to District 12 after winning the Hunger Games. They both should be happy to be alive but with rebellion at the forefront against the Capital and Peeta and Gale giving Katniss the cold-shoulder, things are not as perfect as they seem.

Katniss is tested even further in this intense novel as the rebellion grows and she is sent, along with Peeta, to visit various districts on the Victory Tour.

Page Break

MY REVIEW:

“We had to save you because you’re the mockingjay, Katniss,” says Plutarch. “While you live, the revolution lives.”

By far, this is my favourite out the series.

Collins kept me at the edge of my seat and staying up all night to finish this book. The ending is INTENSE…I had to actually take a little breather once I finished it. I had no idea after the first book that this is where the author would take the series, and I was pleasantly surprised.

Katniss developed a bit further and while she still acted selfish, I really enjoyed reading about her struggles. Normally a teenager character who acts like ‘everything evolves around ME’ gets really annoying but it just fit in this world. This is a dystopian, harsh place and Katniss is an emotional-thinker, she doesn’t always make logical decisions but that is part of her charm. I also think it is why I like the love-triangle, Katniss doesn’t really seem to care of Peeta most of the time, at least not in a ‘if I don’t love you I will die’ way. I know she cares about him but I like that the romances don’t completely take over the novel.

I can’t wait for the movie to come out either! I know it won’t be as good as the book (they never are, right?) but I  the cast looks really good and as long as they follow the plot relatively well it should be good!

Leave a Reply

