Top Ten Tuesday – Best/Worst Movie Adaptations

Each week The Broke and Bookish  hosts a Top Ten Tuesday based on a chosen literary topic. This weeks topic is Top Ten best and worst movie adaptions! So here is my list without further ado broken up into the best 5 and the worst 5.

The Best:

302767052188516687645759

1. The Lord of the Rings series (and the Hobbit too!) – I read these books when I was 13 and I never thought it could or would ever be turned into a movie. There was a really crappy animated version that I watched when I was even younger which is just awful. Peter Jackson took a richly complex and wonderful story and really made it entertaining for the first time! I have to admit that my boyfriend and I watch TTT and RoTK a lot. Maybe too much?
And I really enjoyed the Hobbit. I was really excited when it came out but I was worried how such a short children’s book could be spread into a 3 hour, 3 part movie series but I loved how Jackson added a lot of additional information, some which came from the history of middle earth, another series finished by Tolkien’s son. I am a total nerd for all things LoTR, I can still remember being in junior high and watching the movie 5 times in the theatres! That is 15 hours happily spent 🙂

2. The Hunger Games – I was pleasantly surprised at how good the adaptation was. Sure, it wasn’t perfect and there were a few big flaws (such as missing characters and important scenes) but overall I enjoyed it and I am excited for Catching Fire to come out!

3. Pride and Prejudice – this was another surprise for me because this book is such a classic but Matthew MacFadyen plays the most perfect Darcy. Keira Knightley also seems a perfect cast for Elizabeth and I think great characters is the most important element for this adaptation to work. I even like the TV series with Colin Firth but the 2005 adaptation

4. The Harry Potter series – I think individually the movies have a lot of flaws but I think each movie got better and better and the final 2 were done extremely well. Yes, there was  a lot left out and changes made that didn’t really work but overall I found the whole movie series enjoyable and who doesn’t love Emma Watson? Hermione was played out perfectly in my eyes!

5. Fight Club This isn’t a YA book (far from it) but I thought the movie was very entertaining even though it didn’t stick too closely to the novel. Palahniuk is a hard writer to follow, I was surprised when I first found out they were making this novel into a movie but it was really well done. They couldn’t have picked a better cast with Brad Pitt and Edward Norton.

The Worst:

544891418656304335

6. Beastly – I didn’t have high expectations for this one but it was truely awful. The whole premise was ruined because the main character wasn’t even a beast! He just had some tattoos on his face. Ooooh scary!

7. Beautiful Creatures – This is a little unfair because I barely gave this movie a chance. I did not like the book so did I expect the movie to be any better? In one word: No. No it was not better.

8. Twilight – I was one of those people who really did not enjoy the movie. But common, Edward looked like a sparkly princess and Kristen Steward had zero emotion.

I can’t think of 2 more but notice a theme here? Must stay away from all black covers when watching book adaptations!

Here are also some novels they are planning on making into movies in the next few years:
The ones with * at the end are ones I am excited for

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare *

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan *

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Vampire Academy by Rachelle Mead *

The Maze Runner by James Dashner *

Divergent by Veronica Roth *

and others that are in development (which I think means they could not be made) are Shiver, Fallen, Uglies, Before I Fall, and The Raven Boys.

Think any of the books above that are being made into movies are a mistake or are you excited?
What are your best and worst adaptations?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Best/Worst Movie Adaptations

  1. The Twilight movies could have been so good if the casting had just been better. That’s what really ruined them I think. I’ve never seen Beastly but the book didn’t sound like something I’d enjoy at all. And the BC movie was just horrifically disappointing, and I loved the book. I am so so excited about the Divergent, City of Bones and Vampire Academy movies. I want to see the Maze Runner because Dylan O’Brien but I’m not sure I’ll ever read the books.

    • I agree about Twilight – I think the casting could have saved the movie. I found the dialogue awkward in many parts but again, I think it was because of the poor actors.

      I really enjoyed the Maze Runner, I would give the book a chance! I amalso very excited for City of Bones to come out so soon!

  2. Best adaptation:
    Fight Club.
    Palahniuck himself said that the movie was better than the book.I think David Fincher,as always,did something incredible with the movie.He managed to convey Chuck’s message and above all,succeeded at making us believe that the narrator and Tyler are different persons.The script itself is epic! I never get bored with the movie,even after watching it about 5 or 6 times.(Of course,I could go on and on and on about what makes the movie one of the best of all time…)

    The Virgin Suicides
    The movie does the book total justice.I love how poetic and enticing the narrator’s voice is.There are also the perfect cast,the sublime soundtrack,the amalgam of feelings that contribute enormously to making the movie a really great one.Sophia Coppola did a great job with this one.It is alluring,funny and tragic,just like the book itself.

    To Kill A Mockingbird:
    One word: stunning.The perfect adaptation.The characters in the movie are exactly how I imagined them in the book.

    Worst adaptation:
    Harry Potter:
    Being a Potterhead,I made it a point to watch every HP movie,even though I was always deceived as no movie really matched my expectations.Of course,I spent a very nice time watching them,partly because I ‘grew up with’ the characters and seem to know everything about them!But the movies would have been way better if some important scenes in the book were added.For instance,in the sixth movie,we barely get any information about Tom Jedusor: why did he change his name?why was he abandoned? and so on.It’s a shame because the sixth book is my favourite.On the same line,directors tend to modify things in the movies: the ending of the last HP would have been more poignant had Harry conversed with Dumbledore’s portrait and put it back in Dumbledore’s tomb!

    🙂

    • Yes Fight Club was one of the few examples of a movie being better than the book! I really enjoy it and have also watched it many times 🙂

      I haven’t actually read or watched The Virgin Suicides! What would you suggest first, book or movie?

      In terms of HP I feel like that is the biggest issue with film/book adaptations…sometimes you just can’t get across all the information you want in a span of 2-3 hours. Look at LoTR, they also left out SO much history and characters (like TOM BOMBADIL!!), although in this case I felt like the missing information didn’t necessarily take away anything from the movie series. I completely understand not everyone is a total LoTR nerd like me haha I wouldn’t mind a 5 hour movie that included everything but I know that is unrealistic and I think a lot of HP fans feel the same way 🙂

      Thanks for the insightful comment kainzow06!

Leave a Reply

