Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After

Each week The Broke and Bookish  hosts a Top Ten Tuesday based on a chosen literary topic. This week’s topic is Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After! This topic was so appealing to me because I am one of those people that collects names. I love names, especially unique and quirky ones! So in no particular order:

Page Break

1. Pressia from Pure by Julianna Baggott – I really loved Pressia in the Pure series but her name always felt a little “off” to me, probably because I picture this as a perfect name for one of those white persian cats with the really stuck-up faces!

2. Ismae from Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) by Robin LaFevers – I just love this name (and character) and would definitely name my hypothetical daughter this.

3. Piggy from The Lord of The Flies by William Golding – Oh poor Piggy. I used to volunteer at a dog shelter and we had a little pink coloured American Staffordshire Terrier come in that we dubbed “Piggy” and it was such perfect name.

4. Holden from The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger – Hopefully this would not turn my hypothetical son into an angsty teen but this name is so perfect.I think Holden is one of those classic names that will never go out of style. If not my son, then at least it would a good name for my car which gives me lots of angst.

5. Chapman from Rule of the Bone by Russell Banks – This novel is a modern version of the Catcher in the Rye and I think Chapman or Chappie would also make a great name for a car/teenager that causes you angst.

6.Bokonon from Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut – If I had a cat this would be such a fun name (Boko for short!) as Bokononism is the made-up religion in Vonnegut’s novel, which has to do with peace of mind and living a good life. Also common, a cat named Bokonon from Cat’s Cradle? Eh eh? good pun? No, just me?

7. Seraphina from Seraphina by Rachel Hartman – Simply put I just think this is a really pretty name and easy to pronounce for a hypothetical daughter.

8. Finnikin from Finnikin of the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles #1) by Melina Marchetta – I love love love this name for a dog! He would be called Finn for short. Finn is such a strong character and hero in Marchetta’s series, I feel like it would be the perfect name for my little fur-hero! I have a dog named Rocko and I have been thinking of getting him a companion and I will definitely be using this name.

9. Oryx and Crake from Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam #1) by Margaret Atwood – This would be a perfect set if you adopted two pets at the same time…I am picturing when I was younger the fishes I always had. I love this book and the crazy world Atwood created and these names are unique and wonderful.

10. Penryn and Raffe from Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee – And lastly, again two sets of names from the same novel because I am indecisive like that! Both these names are so unique and I could definitely see naming either children or pets after them.

Page Break

View all my other reviews on goodreads!

Leave a Reply

