Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

Each week The Broke and Bookish  hosts a Top Ten Tuesday based on a chosen literary topic. This week’s topic is Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016! This year I really stepped up my reading game and have read 140+ books so far, but we still have 26 days left until 2017! I went out of my comfort zone and tried quite a few new authors this year, so I have a lot to choose from. I am going to only choose new-to-me authors that I rated 4 or 5 stars so I can keep this list to ten! And without further ado:

Page Break

1. Elle Kennedy – I first read The Deal back on May 3 and since then I have read the rest of the series (4 books in total), two other novels she did with Sarina Bowen (Him & Us) and I have my eyes set on the Heat of the Moment (Out of Uniform, #1) series, Body Check, and the Midnight Rescue (Killer Instincts, #1) series. I have a feeling I will be reading a lot more of Elle Kennedy in 2017! She never ceases to amaze me with her fresh and realistic dialogue, funny characters and interesting plots. I feel in love with the Off-Campus series and in the final book Kennedy mentioned a spin-off series that I am already so excited for even though nothing official has been announced yet. Here’s to hoping in 2017!

2. Lauren Blakely – I feel like I am behind the times as I had never read anything by Blakely until this year. She has a hit series called Caught Up in Us that I am interested in reading but this year I tried the Night After Night (Seductive Nights, #1) series and I was hooked! In 2017 I expect I will be reading Big RockMister O, and her other successful series.

3. Rachel Bach – So at the beginning of 2016 I discovered a new genre that I had never heard of before called “Space Opera”. I am not sure exactly how I stumbled upon it but it really combined my love of sci-fi, badass chicks, and romance. The first book I read in this genre was Bach’s Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1) which I read on Jan 18. I read Honor’s Knight (Paradox #2) on Jan 22, and I am hoping to finish the series in 2017. It feel a little to the wayside as I kept discovering more novels in this genre.

4. Sara Creasy – Another new author to me in the Space Opera genre wrote Song of Scarabaeus and this novel completely blew me out of the water. I have yet to read the second novel in this series and it looks like Creasy hasn’t been writing much (from what I can see on goodreads) but I really hope she publishes something else because she has real talent. Her last comment on goodreads was back in 2015, she says she is working on a new science fiction adventure/romance and there’s also the possibility of a third Scarabaeus so I really hope she announces something in 2017!

5. Linnea Sinclair – This author has been around for a while now, Gabriel’s Ghost (Dock Five Universe #1) was first published in 2002! And I just got around to discovering her 14 years but better late than never. I absolutely loved Gabriel’s Ghost, so much that I instantly read her other novel Games of Command. This author hasn’t published anything since 2010 (her last publication was 2013 but she has only done compilations and a self-help writing book since 2010). Her previous novels will keep me busy for a while but hopefully she has been working on a new series!

6. Thea Harrison – I feel like everyone and their dog has read Dragon Bound (Elder Races, #1) already, as it was published in 2011 but this is my first introduction to the author. Dragon Bound was so unique and wonderfully written, with great humour, romance and action. I can’t wait to read what else Harrison has!

7. Mary Frame – This up-and-coming author published the Imperfect Chemistry series back in 2014 but I had only discovered her now. She is still fairly new, having only published four novels in total but I will be keeping my eye on her in 2017.

8. Monica Murphy – This author already has five different series in the works and I read the One Week Girlfriend (One Week Girlfriend, #1) which surprised me at how good it was. The cover of this novel is very cutesy chick-lit, but the novel itself if quite angsty and dark. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!

9. Krista & Becca Ritchie – these authors, who are incidentally identical twins, already have quite the collection of series. Kobo had a sale and I was able to pick up Addicted to You (Addicted, #1) and I was immediatley hooked! The story is very unique and I am excited to read what else these twins have written!

10. Catherine Gilbert Murdock – I was very late in the game reading Dairy Queen, but I am so glad I took a chance on it, even though it was published back in 2006 and the cover was not very appealing. It ended up being a very complex and wonderful story, and I am excited to keep reading the rest of the series in 2017!

Have you discovered a new author this year? Tell me below in the comments!

Page Break

View all my other reviews on goodreads!

Leave a Reply

